Windows 8 Woes

Today was a bad day for my Win 8 laptop. I did a clean install of Windows 8 to a brand new SSD about 2 months ago. Things were flakey from day 1, but today, everything started falling apart.

Here are the issues I am currently battling:

1) The built-in PDF viewer has never been able to print. Not once. It just doesn’t work. I had to install Acrobat to be able to print PDFs (Acrobat prints fine). The install made me feel dirty.

2) Starting today, my printer now just says “the printer is not responding” if I try to print from any app. Every printer status window says the printer is attached and working fine, until you actually try to print.

3) Starting today, when I boot Windows, there is a good chance I get some error saying something along the lines of the Windows All-Users Install Service is not working.

4) The Windows Event log has a bunch of these after every boot: Oh, nevermind, I tried to open the event viewer, and now its locked up trying to populate its nav tree. Well, when event viewer worked, it was basically a bunch of timeout errors for important-sounding things.

5) Starting a couple days ago, the Windows Store icon in the RT view shows I have 1 update. I can open the Windows Store app, but if I actually click on “Updates”, then I get a “loading” spinny, forever. I let it sit for like 15 min and it never did anything else.

6) Starting today, Firefox no longer opens. It “runs” as in there is a firefox.exe process there, but it gets no UI window. Internet Explorer is slightly better, the 3rd time I clicked it, it finally opened a window. The first 2 times it did nothing.

7) Starting today, right-clicking in Windows Explorer, or clicking “New Folder” in a ‘save file’ dialog box causes the process to hang indefinitely. At first I thought it must not like loading some library that is registered to have a context menu option, but that doesn’t explain why the “New Folder” button causes the same error. Or does it?

8) I just tried to close my Windows Event Viewer that was failing to load nav trees (see above), and now it put up a dialog box that says MMC is waiting for all snap-ins to complete, with a never-ending rolling progress bar. Awesome.

I think that is it. Pretty major stuff. Something is going very wrong here. Now I need to get all my files off here before it completely stops running…

Don’t get me wrong though. I actually don’t mean to bash Win8 too much. For a while it was working fine, and I was getting used to its quirky dual-desktop-ness. I want it to work. I want to like it. Most of all, I NEED it to work, because I am trying to do Win 8 / Win Store development on it. Most of my issues up until now I could attribute to flakey non-supported video and touchpad drivers, but todays issues could be anything…

Oh well, off to try to backup files, and see if I can get this thing running right again. Wish me luck!


Edit / Part 2

Right after I posted the first half of this, the entire OS went kaput. I went to the RT desktop to run MetroTwit, and clicking that app did nothing. Tried a couple other apps from the WinRT start screen. Nothing. No apps run. I alt-tab back to IE in the classic desktop, and then everything stops working. The physical power button doesn’t trigger a shutdown, but after pressing it like 20 times, the entire screen went black, except my mouse cursor, which I could still move around.

So after a hard shutdown, letting it sit a few minutes, and powering back on, it seems to be working again. Windows Event Log comes up now too, so here are some fun entries. These entries are all from a 15 minute timespan leading up to the failure…


Faulting application name: nvvsvc.exe, version: 8.15.11.8688, time stamp: 0x4a983920
Faulting module name: NVSVC64.DLL, version: 8.15.11.8688, time stamp: 0x4a98391a
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000082dc
Faulting process id: 0x3f8
Faulting application start time: 0x01cd9f69358aa48e
Faulting application path: C:\Windows\system32\nvvsvc.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\NVSVC64.DLL
Report Id: cf36d8cc-0b5c-11e2-be87-002243d8c785
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


(there are 10x of these from source “Schannel”)

A fatal alert was generated and sent to the remote endpoint. This may result in termination of the connection. The TLS protocol defined fatal error code is 51. The Windows SChannel error state is 900.


The Device Association Service service hung on starting.


The Group Policy Client service failed to start due to the following error:
The service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion.


The Microsoft Account Sign-in Assistant service failed to start due to the following error:
The service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion.


(There are dozens of these, all in the same second)

The Multimedia Class Scheduler service failed to start due to the following error:
The service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion.


The server {E7B3C0E0-FB47-49F6-A66B-8A7C2E4E7B9C} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.


The Application Experience service failed to start due to the following error:
The service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion.

Tagged with:
Posted in Windows
2 comments on “Windows 8 Woes
  1. Eric Fleming says:

    When I first installed Windows 8 it immediately broke all functionality with my printer. After about 2 hours of trying to get the printer to be seen by my laptop I gave up. A month later I decided to give it another go and had to install A WINDOWS VISTA PRINTER DRIVER from Dell. Now this may be a problem with my old dell printer, but I thought it was crazy that, that specific driver fixed it on a Windows 8 machine. I agree with number 2 and I hate printers……

  2. Rob Goodwin says:

    Having the same problems with my wife’s laptop. Still searching for the secret sauce fix.

Leave a Reply

CodingWithSpike is Jeff Valore. A professional software engineer, focused on JavaScript, Web Development, C# and the Microsoft stack. Jeff is currently a Software Engineer at Virtual Hold Technologies.


I am also a Pluralsight author. Check out my courses!

