Making a truly portable Cygwin install, working around drive letter and file permission issues.

Cygwin in itself is actually fairly portable. There are several other blogs and write-ups out there about installing it to a USB key. However, what they don’t tell you is that while your Cygwin might be runnable from your USB key, or other portable drive, you will run into user permission issues as you use it on different systems.

I ran into this issue pretty quickly using Cygwin installed on an external USB hard drive between my home and work computers. I would create a file on one machine, then try to edit it on another, but Cygwin would say I didn’t have permissions, and would list the file owner as “????????”. After a little digging, it turns out that just because you can run Cygwin from multiple machines, it is actually trying to coordinate who you are with Windows itself. So since I am 2 different users on 2 different machines (and on an ActiveDirectory domain at work, but not at home), Cygwin treats me as 2 different users, so I can’t access my own files that I created on one machine from another machine. In addition, since I have separate Windows user names on each machine, Cygwin tries to put me in separate home directories for each.

It isn’t very pretty, but I eventually came up with a solution to this problem, so when I run Cygwin, whatever user I am currently logged in as in Windows will automatically be added to the same group in Cygwin. Then I can use group level permissions in Cygwin to make sure I can always access my own files.

This all centers around running Cygwin from a .bat file, which includes some extras to set up your user permissions. So start by making a file named “Run Cygwin.bat” (or whatever you want to call it). Place this file on your portable / USB drive. Initially, add this to the file:

@echo off

REM Get current drive letter into WD.
for /F %%A in ('cd') do set WD=%%~dA

This will get the current drive letter for your USB drive, so whatever machine you plug into, you don’t have to worry what letter Windows maps it to.

Next add:

REM Store any existing mounts, unmount them, and replace with mounts to current drive letter.
cygwin\bin\mount -m | cygwin\bin\sed s/mount/"%WD%\/cygwin\\/bin\\/mount"/ > cygwin\tmp\mount.log
cygwin\bin\umount -U
cygwin\bin\mount -f %WD%cygwin/ /
cygwin\bin\mount -f %WD%cygwin\bin /usr/bin
cygwin\bin\mount -f %WD%cygwin\lib /usr/lib

REM Set some general environment variables
set path=%path%;%WD%cygwin\bin;%WD%cygwin\usr\X11R6\bin
set ALLUSERSPROFILE=%WD%ProgramData
set ProgramData=%WD%ProgramData
set CYGWIN=nodosfilewarning

Admittedly, the first part of this was copy/pasted from someone else’s guide on making Cygwin portable. I don’t know that it actually does much useful. The second chunk changes some of the environment variables to point to our portable Cygwin drive.

I should point out that my portable drive has Cygwin installed in the \cygwin folder, and I also created a \ProgramData off the root of the drive. Sometimes Cygwin likes to write stuff to your system’s ProgramData folder, so it is nice to point that to the Cygwin portable drive, instead of saving info to just the machine you are on.

Next, add this to your .bat file:

REM This specifies the login to use.
set USERNAME=YOUR_USER_NAME
set HOME=/home/%USERNAME%
set GROUP=None
set GRP=

Replace “YOUR_USER_NAME” with the user name that you want Cygwin to use. Cygwin will show the file owner as this user name, and that will also be the name of your home directory.

Now, the idea here is that when you run this bat file, it is going to get your current Windows login, no matter what machine you are on, and it is going to map that Windows user to the Cygwin user and group that you indicated in that section.

Now add this to your .bat file, which is what does the hard part:

REM If this is the current user's first time running Cygwin, add them to /etc/passwd
for /F %%A in ('cygwin\bin\mkpasswd.exe -c ^| cygwin\bin\gawk.exe -F":" '{ print $5 }'') do set SID=%%A
findstr /m %SID% cygwin\etc\passwd
if %errorlevel%==1 (
echo Adding a user for SID: %SID%
for /F %%A in ('cygwin\bin\gawk.exe -F":" '/^%GROUP%/ { print $3 }' cygwin/etc/group') do set GRP=%%A
)
if "%GRP%" neq "" (
echo Adding to Group number: %GRP%
cygwin\bin\printf.exe "\n%USERNAME%:unused:1001:%GRP%:%SID%:%HOME%:/bin/bash" >> cygwin\etc\passwd
)
set GRP=
set SID=
set GROUP=

These commands use the Cygwin “mkpasswd.exe” program to get your SID for your current Windows user, and adds it into Cygwin’s \etc\passwd file, mapping the SID to your specified username and group.

Again, not that I have Cygwin installed in the \cygwin folder off the root of my portable drive. If you choose a different path, then you will have to edit the paths in this bit of script.

This next pair of commands is something that I like to add, just because we cna be on a different drive letter on any given system.

REM Make a symlink from /curdrive to the current drive letter.
cygwin\bin\rm.exe /curdrive
cygwin\bin\ln.exe -s %WD% /curdrive

This makes a symlink from “/curdrive” to our current drive letter. That way you can always “cd /curdrive” to get to your current drive letter. Otherwise, you will find yourself hunting for the drive letter in “/cygdrive/{drive_letter}/”.

Next, add this to your .bat file:

REM Actually run the bash instance.
cygwin\bin\bash --login -i

This of course actually runs Cygwin. You will now be logged in as your specified user, and should end up in a home directory with the same username you specified in this .bat file, instead of your Windows user name.

The bat file will halt at this point until you exit the Cygwin session. We need to add this final but to the end of the .bat file to do some cleanup. It will execute after you exit the Cygwin session.

REM Cleanup and replace pre-existing mounts.
cygwin\bin\rm.exe /curdrive
cygwin\bin\umount -U
cygwin\bin\bash cygwin\tmp\mount.log
cygwin\bin\rm cygwin\tmp\mount.log

We remove our symlink to “/curdrive” since it will be remapped, potentially to a different drive letter, on the next run anyway.

And that is it! Now any time you want to run your portable Cygwin, just execute your “Run Cygwin.bat” file that we created here, and you should always be running as the same user and in the same group.


As an additional note, when you run this .bat file in Windows, it will usually come up in a pretty small command shell window. You can add some lines to your .bat file to change the default width and height of this window. At the TOP of your .bat file, add the lines:

REM Set screen dimensions.
mode con: cols=120 lines=40

Here you can specify the number of rows and columns for the command shell window, so it can always start the same size. The hard part is if you run from different resolution displays. For example if you sometimes run from a large external LCD display, and sometimes from a small netbook, then you won’t be able to get a good default size here. I have another blog post about always getting Cygwin to run fullscreen, on any resolution.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in cygwin
16 comments on “Making a truly portable Cygwin install, working around drive letter and file permission issues.
  1. […] a previous post, I walked through making a .bat file that helped set up a truly portable Cygwin install. At the end […]

  2. jenechka says:

    Hi, Spike!
    Thank you for the post! But I have some errors during executing .bat file

    mount: /: Operation not permitted
    mount: /usr/bin: Operation not permitted
    mount: /usr/lib: Operation not permitted

    Could I request your help, please?

    • rally25rs says:

      You know what, those couple lines were actually copy/pasted from someone else’s cygwin .bat file. I always suspected they did nothing. Mine actually throws the same error, but everything still works fine after that. You can actually just remove those 3 mount commands from your .bat file.

  3. jenechka says:

    To help those who wants place .bat file in cygwin folder or somewhere in another place.

    Note that %WD% variable wil have not drive letter but path (not ‘h:/’, but ‘h:/cygwin’)

    To get drive letter correct, use

    set WD=%~d0

    I got it from http://myridia.com/dev_posts/view/786

    PS and of course you should correct all paths in your .bat file

  4. Romeo says:

    Hi Spike, great article. Was very informative and useful.
    But I’m having some issues with some of the settings you have and I’m hoping you can help me out on this.

    It has do with the section of code you have for trying to find the SID when you call mkpasswd -c.
    First question is why do you have this in a for loop? When you call mkpasswd with the -c option, that usually just prints out the current user.
    My second question is toward the bottom part of that section. Why are you resetting GRP, SID, and GROUP to be blank? Don’t you want to keep the setting you found after digging through the mkpasswd and setting it up?

    As the code stands currently, every single time I run my startCygwin.bat file it adds a duplicate entry to my /etc/passwd file.

    Thanks for any assist on this.

    • rally25rs says:

      Hi Romeo, thanks for the feedback. It has been a while since I originally came up with this .bat file, but if I remember correctly, the ‘for’ loop was something to do with the output of mkpasswd -c when on a network domain. Inside that loop, the “findstr” command should be looking in your passwd file to see if this user already exists. If it is adding one every time, check to see if they are exact duplicates.

      • Romeo says:

        Hi Spike,

        Yup, it’s adding one every time and double yup they are exact duplicates.
        As for the mkpaswd -c, I pulled it out of the for loop cause I’ve tried it on different systems (even ones on a network domain) and it still just returns only one entry and that just so happens to be the current logged in user (which is me in my case).
        So guess I’ll fiddle a bit with a bit more and see if I can get it working for my use.

        But I’m still a little confused as to why you are blanking out the SID, GRP and GROUP after going through all the trouble of finding them and saving them into your passwd file.

        Thanks,
        – Romeo

      • rally25rs says:

        I intentionally remove the groups and always use the same default group for every user, because persisting the Windows groups did not seem useful, at least not for me. For example, at home, I am in the Administrators group, but on my work PC, I am not. But I am a member of the IT department group at work, which simply does not exist on my home PC. Basically the groups usually will not line up. The last thing I wanted was to make a file in Cygwin while at work, and have it assign the file to the IT Department group, then go plug in at home and not be able to access my files because I am no longer in that group. It seemed easiest to just always assume a default group. If you actually care to mark your Cygwin files with your Windows groups, then you probably aren’t building something portable anyway. Hope that makes sense.

  5. Hi Jeff

    I see a couple of potential problems with your hack.

    One concerns the way you handle mounts. Your code seems to be lifted from some Cygwin.bat that predates the current Cygwin-1.7 releases. The semantics for mount have changed. You ought to check the Cygwin website and archives for more details, but in brief, Cygwin used to use the Registry to store mount information (1.5). With 1.7 the mount information is stored in a *nix-style fstab manner (/etc/fstab and /etc/fstab.d/*). You are parsing the output of `mount´ and then reusing that output /tmp/mount.log as a shell script. That is not going to work anywhere near a reasonably recent Cygwin; the lines that `mount -m´ outputs do not begin with `mount …´: the lines are not shell-executable. They are formatted as entries in an (adapted) /etc/fstab system file. Hope you see what I mean. If nothing else I hope you will change your blog post to offer a caution to potential users that those early suggestions are utterly unworkable on a recent Cygwin.

    Another problem I see concerns the fact that you are unconditionally doing a `umount -U´ at the bottom of your bat file, to clean up. What if the user has run another Cygwin shell session (by re-executing this “*Cygwin.bat”) in the meantime? This wouldn’t be strange; many people with even a little cli experience keep multiple instances of *nix (bash) sessions open at one time: multitasking. You are, afaict, going to clobber the mounts for another session in the middle of that session. Only way around that which I can see is to do some checking for another instance of bash being run currently (and that is probably a bit hairy to accomplish in WhyynDOS bat script).

    A third thing just makes me uneasy. You use a hard-coded *nix UID of 1001 in your hack to add an entry for the current Windows-User to /etc/passwd. What are the ramifications of having a number of passwd entries around all using the same UID? I do not really know. I am just asking if picking another UID, maybe one very unilkely to ever be generated by any other Cygwin mechanism, would not be wise. Or finding another way. Or pointing out clearly that the user of your tips needs to change that hard-coded value according to what they will discover they need.

    You’ve got some very helpful batch scripting technique presented here and it is good of you to share.

    I think that one point cannot be made strongly enough, however. Lifting code that one doesn’t fully understand from elsewhere and presenting it as part of a larger set of procedures isn’t a good idea. In the hacker world we know this approach as “cargo-cult coding” or “cargo-culting”. Lest you think I am being too harsh, understand my POV: I didn’t come across you offering tips on IrfanView batch scripting or VLC video conversions or whatnot. Cygwin is *very* powerful software, is not a end-user or productivity application, is highly complex, and has absolutely got the potential to mess up a user’s system if abused or mal-used, in a big way. Even if a user just already has a (working) cygwin installation and in a moment of impaired judgement misapplies tips like yours over that (existing) system, they could end up digging a hole for themselves that only a lot of time (maybe hours) of tedious reinstall / recovery work can fix.

    • rally25rs says:

      Thanks for the feedback. I probably should go back and review that post at some point. It was written probably 2 years ago now, so Cygwin has probably changed as you mentioned. I haven’t been using Cygwin much any more so haven’t kept up with its changes. If I can even find my Cygwin portable USB drive I can see what version is on it, but I’m sure it hasn’t been updated in over a year. As for the UID, I never had an issue with having multiple entries with the same UID. Basically the only way to make Cygwin actually portable is to get it to treat your windows login on every computer as the same *nix user. Hence the mapping of windows user id to nix uid 1001, or whatever number you pick. I don’t think the number should matter, since every entry in that users file should end up with the same ID anyway. Oh and good point on the mounts potentially messing up if you run multiple copies. I always ran GNU Screen so would just switch tabs in Screen instead of running multiple Cygwin instances. If you have some more constructive tips or posts on making Cygwin portable, let me know and I would be happy to link to them. If you run into any actual errors with the multiple UIDs I would like to hear about it too.

  6. stockman e says:

    @ REM: Get current drive letter into WD.
    the command : for /F %%A in (‘cd’) do set WD=%%A does NOT work as expected
    it should be :for /F %%A in (‘cd’) do set WD=%%~dA
    see FOR /? for info

    • rally25rs says:

      Thanks for catching this. I always kept the .bat file in the root of my USB drive so never noticed that it did not work if run from a subfolder. I corrected the post.

  7. Hydranix says:

    How dumb… Why would you go to all this trouble…..?

    Install onto a fat32 or fat64 (exfat) filesystem. Better yet, try UDF.

    As for the user just symlink together your home directories and give each user the same UID.

    Journaling just slows down and wears your flashdrive out faster anyway.

    PROTIP: Go into the properties of your flashdrive, hardware tab, drives hardware properties, and tick the radio bubble that says “fast removal” and how you have synchronous I/O on the drive… less chance of corruption.

    • rally25rs says:

      Most of the purpose of the article was to give all users the same UID in an automated way. I’m curious how you would symlink all your home directories and give all your users the same UID in another way. It has been years since I wrote that article, so I’m sure things in Cygwin have changed since then.

  8. Daryl says:

    Hi there do we keep the REM parts or do they just mean remove that line there next to?

Leave a Reply

CodingWithSpike is Jeff Valore. A professional software engineer, focused on JavaScript, Web Development, C# and the Microsoft stack. Jeff is currently a Software Engineer at Virtual Hold Technologies.


I am also a Pluralsight author. Check out my courses!

